Home Q&A What time is it in Malta?

What time is it in Malta?

What time is it in Malta?

Geographically, Malta is in the South of Europe, north of the North African coast and in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea. In terms of land, Malta is one of the smallest nations on planet Earth. It is the fifth smallest European country and the tenth smallest country in the World. All these facts impact the time zone of Malta and hence the time it is in Malta. Another interesting fact is that when the time of Malta is specified, it is normally labelled as Valletta Malta with Valletta being the capital city of Malta.

What time is it in Malta?

The current time in Malta is

What is the time zone of Malta?

This is another commonly asked question, one that is easy to answer. Malta being such a small nation means that the whole country is in the same time zone, unlike much bigger countries such as the United States. The time zone of Malta is Central European Time (CET) Zone.

Daylight in Malta

Whilst Malta enjoys a lot of sunlight, daylight varies over the year. Winter is the season with shortest days whilst Summer is the season with longest days. In Malta, daylight saving time starts on the first day of the Spring season. On the day, local clocks are turned forward by an hour. On the opposite end, daylight saving time ends on the last day of the Autumn season. On this day clocks are turned backwards by an hour.

The shortest day in Malta is 9 hours 33 minutes long whilst the longest day is 14 hours 26 minutes. This means that the longest day in Malta is 4 hours and 52 minutes longer than the shortest day. The shortest day of the year happens in the month of December whilst the longest day of the year happens in July.

What is the time difference between Malta and Greenwich Mean Time?

Malta’s time zone, CET, is an hour ahead of the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) time zone. To provide a better perspective, CET is an hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) too. Many still confuse GMT and UTC but GMT is a time zone whilst UTC is a time standard.

What other countries share the same time zone as Malta?

As mentioned above, Malta’s time zone is Central European Time. That said, there are several countries that are on the same time zone. These are Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (excluding Canary Islands), Sweden, Switzerland and Vatican City.

Malta is in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here